Foundation 1: God Exists

When anyone speaks about theology, even if it is a simple, “He is risen!” they are doing so upon theological foundations and “assumptions.” I hesitate to use the word assumption because it has such negative connotations. What I mean by it here is that if you were to continue to ask the question, “why?” you would eventually reach a point where you simply didn’t have an answer other than something similar to, “it just feels right.” That place, where you can go no further, where you have no proof, no evidence, no argument for why you think that way. That is your foundation. That is one place where if anyone is going to understand what you are saying, they must simply agree with you.

It seemed wise to begin this blog with my foundations, those beliefs which I have no proof for, but upon which all of my other knowledge and theory stands. Are you ready? Here is my first assumption: God exists.

Considering that at least 90% of the world still believes in some form of higher power, most people won’t disagree with me here, but it’s an important place to recognise as a foundation. We have no proof other than our feelings, our sense of awe, our experiences, and other subjective material. For me, I have felt a large and protective presence my entire life. It is plausible that such a presence was developed by my childhood mind as a result of my mother reading scripture to me before bed, and as a result of her telling me that God will protect me and that the feeling is all in my head, but it still feels real to me, and so I lean on it as proof, fickle though it may be.

Part of my reasoning for believing in God is that it is simply logical to do so. If one were to believe in God, and there is a God, then one is in good shape. Yay. If one is to believe in God, and there is no God, then one has been a (hopefully) good person in life and has contributed positively to existence. On the other hand, if one does not believe in God, and there is a God, the popular convention would have you spending the afterlife in eternal torment. (Yikes). And finally, if one does not believe in God, and there is no God, then one stops caring upon death when one ceases to think anything at all. In the end, by believing in a God, you prepare yourself for either eternal joy and wonder or non-existence, in which case the fact that you believed in God changes nothing other than your behaviour while you lived.

There is also the popular scientific logic that life comes from life. It seemingly always has. The theory that life can appear from nothing is currently theorised but has not been proven. At the very least, the laws of energy would tell us that energy can never be destroyed, nor is it ever created, which would suggest that the universe has existed for all eternity (unlikely) or it arises from someone or something. Energy sharing between multiple possible universes aside, this theory seems pretty solid that something out there started it all, and why couldn’t that something be an intelligent being more powerful than we could imagine?

All of this is not to say that you must believe in God in order to read my blog or benefit from it. It simply means that if you do not believe in God, you will likely find yourself unable to accept much of what I have to say from here on out, and so why would you bother?

Tune in next time for my next foundation: God exists outside of time.

One thought on “Foundation 1: God Exists

Add yours

Leave a Reply

A WordPress.com Website.

Up ↑

